Recipe- Gluten Free Cornbread

Standard

Poor Adam has come home from work the last two nights to his wife in some kind of predicament.

Tuesday night: I thought baked potatoes in the oven were going to be EASY!  And….they were- except that I read an article that said you can bake them right on the rack…which seemed like a brilliant idea, until the oven was beginning to smell and our tiny house was filled with smoke!  I ended up transferring them to a pan….which I should have thought of in the first place…oh well!  Now, I know for next time!

Adam said that coming home to a smoky house was still better than coming home to no me  :)

Wednesday night:  I made my Mom’s yummy sweet chili for dinner, and thought I would try my hand at cornbread- gluten free.  I am going to share the recipe cause it turned out really good….but at one point…probably a minute after safely removing the hot pan from the oven with an oven mitt….I forgot it was hot and decided to transfer to the counter with my bare hands…..
o. my. word.
Ouch, tears, glad no one was there watching, and, “Why was that pan hot!!??”.
Not awesome, I must say.  So, like 8 of my fingers are a bit sore today….but I am sure that doesn’t have to be the case for you!  Just remember the pan is hot!

Adam was sweet and helped take care of me and did the dishes for me…..and he only laughed a little :)

glutenfreecornbread

Recipe for Gluten-Free Cornbread:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups lukewarm water
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups cornmeal
  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 Tsp. xanthan gum
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 Tbs. baking powder
  • 1 Tsp salt
  1. Preheat your oven to 400F, and grease your pan for baking.  I used a pie pan, but it was pretty thick pieces, so next time I might make it in a larger pan.
  2. Whisk together the eggs, water, and vegetable oil and set aside.  Stir all the dry ingredients together thoroughly and then mix in wet ingredients until just together. DSCN3436DSCN3438DSCN3441
  3. Pour the batter into the pan and bake until just turning brown…about 20 minutes.  I had mine in for about 18 minutes, and it was perfect!DSCN3443DSCN3445DSCN3450DSCN3454

And, we made honey butter for ours, which makes it all the better!  Hope you enjoy!

Leave comments here: