menu planning:

Standard

If I want to have any chance of trying the yummy recipes that I find on pinterest or blogs that I read- [check out the delicious recipes on The Perplexing Palate] I am going to have to be an organized lady and PLAN what I want to make for dinner in advance so that I can be prepared with ingredients that I may not already have.

1601440_10152030509549888_747260574_n

I actually have loved writing up a menu for each week and having at least something to go off of. (okay, I just love writing any kinda list :)  I have stuck pretty closely to these so far, but if we get backlogged on leftovers, we will use some of those up and scoot that nights meal to next week’s menu.
Anywhere we live after here will probably have a grocery store, so I will hopefully be ahead of the game in planning and having what I need on hand.
It has been so fun to cook for Adam and to have someone to share meals with.  I love talking, eating, going over the day with him, and having that special time together.  Cooking for myself wasn’t nearly so joyful.
Also, I have never had a kitchen before fully stocked with pans, dishes, utensils and small appliances…..and thanks to so many generous people who helped us start up life together for our wedding- I have that now, and am LOVING it!

Any tips for planning meals or new recipe ideas?

2 thoughts on “menu planning:

  1. Honestly, I HATED cooking before I had my own kitchen. Wouldn’t go anywhere near a kitchen except in dire need. Now it’s a passion of mine, and we were very blessed at our wedding with generous family and friends supplying our kitchen with an abundance of fun “tools” *coughtoyscough*. Thanks for the recommendation! You’ve egged me on, though. I’ve been planning on starting to “menu plan” so it’s less stressful for me (and I’m a list-maker too!)…now I think I’ll give it a shot. Especially because my list of things to try, tweak, and put up on the blog is looooooooooong. Good luck! One tip…Make your recipes “related” and flexible. Buy a bag of sweet peppers and see how many things they can go into! I used some in mango salsa for fish tacos, then put extra salsa on a salad the next night (Delish!) , then used some of the other sweet peppers in Pad Thai, and still others in soup…the possibilities are endless. That way, none of them go to waste and you’re getting plenty of colorful veggies!

    • Funny how things change, right? :)

      Thanks for the advice on making more than one recipe with certain items! That’s great, and I need to work on doing that more.

Leave comments here:

