Forgiveness:

Standard

forgiveness

Forgiveness is a powerful word. It often brings with it thoughts of past hurts, memories of hurting others, and healing from wounds that have been brought about in your life.
Last night I was listening to the song “Forgiveness” by Matthew West….and it was such a good reminder that an unforgiving spirit is only hurting me.
Also a good reminder about the incredible forgiveness that we have been given through Jesus.  It goes way beyond the things we have to forgive- hurt feelings, getting your toes stepped on, feeling unloved, or un-appreciated….but is receiving the amazing grace of God that covers every bad thing we have EVER done, with the blood of Christ.  It required more than the humility, and selflessness that we need to forgive….but also the shedding of blood.

It is humbling to think about people who I have hurt, who have been gracious enough to forgive me.
Seeing someone forgive you completely- without holding any of it against you, and still loving you, is an AMAZING picture of what we receive in Christ.

It blows my mind to think that when Christ looks at me, He does not see my sinfulness, but sees me covered in the righteousness of His Son.  That is redeeming love….
In mulling over what I have to be thankful for during this season of the year- and definitely yesterday- I think the biggest thing I have to be thankful for is the grace of God in my life…His perfectly sufficient forgiveness and mercy.

“You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly.  Very rarely will one die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possible dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love for us in this….while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”       ~Romans 5:6-8

 

Leave comments here:

