thirst:

Standard

Image

I am a firm believer in drinking a lot of water.  I used to be in a really good habit of drinking 64 ounces of water a day….and that seemed perfect for me.  Lately I have been really bad about consistently drinking enough water.  Especially with drinking coffee…..it’s easy to get dehydrated.  
The other day I found myself feeling really thirsty.  I just needed a drink of water.  And, when you are in the habit of drinking a lot of water….it seems rare to be actually really thirsty.  But as I had gotten out of habit, I was struck with the feeling of thirst.

It made me really grateful to God for using analogies that we can understand in Scripture.  
He says in John 7:37-38

“If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink.  Whoever believes in me as the scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him”

And in Psalms 143: 6

“I spread out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parched land.”

The quote at the top is one that I just read today, and was challenged with just in remembering God’s desire to fill us, to satisfy, and to meet our needs.  Feeling physically thirsty was a good challenge to me of my soul’s constant thirst for Christ. 
I am grateful for everyday reminders of God’s grace in my life and my overwhelming need for Him!

 

Leave comments here:

