white:

Standard

Yesterday I was on my run- through the botanical gardens not far from here, and running along the path seeing lots of monkeys and beautiful scenery was lovely.  Next time I shall bring my camera so that you can see how pretty it was.  Anyways, I was taking a walking break and came upon this group of kids getting water from the creek and I said hi to them and was immediately their friend as they began shouting “mzungu!!”  (Such a funny word to me being here….just means white person…..and in America- we would never call out to people that way!).  They grabbed my hands and touched my skin like they had never seen a white person before.  Rather strange to be such a sight to see simply because I have white skin.  I had been listening to my i-pod while running and the earbuds were around my neck…..the kids heard the music playing and began screaming- all of them wanting to hear the music that was coming out of the strange contraption.
Sometimes I really do hate being called mzungu, but usually it just makes me laugh.  I was walking the other day and this little girl taps her Mom and says “look Mom Mzungu!”  I was just like…yep- I’m white.
Cultural differences are SO interesting….God created with such diversity and creativity.  I can definitely be discouraged sometimes about the differences, but most of the time- I love seeing the way we are all so uniquely created.
America really is a melting pot though cause in living here and seeing a distinct culture with distinct practices and traditions…..makes me realize that the US isn’t quite like that.
I have I think gained a deeper appreciation for the US though…..I definitely was blessed to be born there- and then as well to be able to spend some time here.

This was on Sunday- a very WET day as Jane and I ventured to church....we got super muddy!

This was on Sunday- a very WET day as Jane and I ventured to church….we got super muddy!

In completely unrelated news- I have been making this granola that is SO tasty!  And- my sister Sarah will agree since I got her hooked on it as well……

1 cup oats
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tbs peanut butter
1 tbs honey
Melt the honey and peanut butter together and then stir in vanilla and cinnamon- bake on a cookie sheet for 8-12 minutes depending on how crunchy you want it…..maybe stir it once.  And- then I add raisins to mine!  Yum! And easy!

granolaAnd- for Christmas- my parents gave me some money to buy something I want/need here in Uganda…..so my choice…..a blender!  With all this DELICIOUS fruit here…I wanted to take advantage of it by making smoothies!  So, I got this cute little mini blender, and having been consuming lots of delicious fruit!  This morning I had a pineapple banana smoothie for breakfast….delish!

blender1Hope your New Year is off to a great start.  I know I am encouraged to know that God’s mercies are new every single morning and He loves me and is working for my good.
Blessings,
Amy

4 thoughts on “white:

  1. claire

    The term Mzungu is used often in the KISSES FROM KATIE book so I even knew what it meant in your post! How are those missionary shoes holding up? love you, momxxx

    • missAmy

      Oh yeah that’s right! The chacos are great! Definitely glad I got them….they are super practical here and comfortable, which is nice!
      My tan lines are ewww….but whatever.
      Love you Mom!

  2. Katie Dutzmann

    Sarah sent me that recipe but I didn’t know it was from you! I am looking forward to trying it and I am sure baby Bean will like it too! I forgot to tell you that Bean was really kicking me this morning while I was talking to you! It was so good to catch up! Have a lovely night’s sleep!

    • missAmy

      Yes, I hope you like it! It’s quick and easy so I think it’s great!
      Thanks for talking today, it really was great to catch up!
      Love,
      Amy

Leave comments here:

