it’s been four years….

Standard

So yes, it has been four years since I first started writing on this blog!  It was back in 2008 when I felt inspired to start a blog to chart life happenings, etc.  I was 16 years old and just finishing up highschool.  Those were good days.  I wrote my first post on December 4th 2008, which you may read here for old times sake if you wish.

I have so enjoyed writing this blog….and deeply appreciate all of you faithful readers who are along for the ride!  It’s been a fun thing for me to do, something I really enjoy, and I have learned a lot doing it.  So thanks for reading!

This was me four years ago:
364_30209304887_978_n

Four years later…this is me today!
I got my hair braided African style!

braid1It was a LONG process that began at 10:00am this morning and got done about 5:30pm…..so almost 8 hours of braiding!  It definitely is a huge change for me…..darker (not a huge demand for blonde hair here in Uganda…so this was the closest I could find), longer, and braided!   :)
But, I wanted to have the experience of it….since doing hair in braids, dreads, and all that is so common here.  Anyways, so it will be fun for a while….then I am sure I’ll be glad to have my own hair back!

It has been a good week here…..doing as much school as possible even with all of us feeling the need for a break for Christmas!
As I have been feeling some homesickness and stuff with the Holidays….it’s been a great reminder to me that even if I was back in the United States….there would still be things and people that I would be missing.  It’s easy to idolize “home” back in America…forgetting that there are totally struggles and frustrations there as well.
The truth is that in this world as Christians….we will never really feel at home anywhere.  There will always be a longing inside of us for the place that we were really made for…..Heaven- with our Savior!
I am reminded of a quote by C.S Lewis:

“If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.”
― C.S. Lewis

 

I love this quote and think it is so true…..this world is not the end.  There is so much more awaiting those who believe……….just pilgrims passing through, let’s not get too comfortable.

I hope all of you out there are enjoying the week….and definitely some Holiday Cheer as we celebrate the birth of Christ through all of this fun Christmas time festivity!
I took a couple pictures at a store we usually go to after church on Sundays to show some of the Christmas decor here!

DSCN1071

 

 

This one is of Jane and Lizzy.DSCN1072

This picture makes me laugh that there is a snowman!  But, hey even if there is no snow anywhere in Uganda…..everyone loves a snowman!
Have a great day everyone!
~Amy

Leave comments here:

