Patience, Endurance, and Thanksgiving

Standard

Hello!

I am in the middle of a sermon by David Platt on Revelation 12-17 or so.  And, although Revelation can be quite difficult for me to understand….something that I feel like was really encouraging from the sermon though is that he point at the fact that in our fight against sin, and immorality, and all of the brokenness in our world….we are not fighting FOR victory- we are fighting FROM victory.  Christ has won!  He has already gained victory, and that is where we stand as well as believers…for we belong to Him!

“Here is a call for the endurance of the saints, those who keep the commandments of God and their faith in Jesus.”

~Revelation 14:12

May we patiently endure….and strive hard to follow Christ….Who IS the victor!

This is at the beach (of Lake Victoria) here in Uganda….only a 5 minute walk from the house.

Yesterday- I had the opportunity to go to church here in Uganda with the Fowlers.  It was a neat experience, and I definitely enjoyed going.  The service was alive, and they were passionate in their worship, so it was encouraging.  Tomorrow is Jubilee for Uganda…a celebration of 50 years of independence….so this weekend at church was a celebration of that.  And, they were really focusing on being thankful for the last 50 years, and hopeful about the next.
It was humbling to me…because although I look around and see the beauty of Uganda…I also see poverty, and living conditions that most of us in America would look down on.  But, to hear that they were thankful for all of this…made me realize just how many things that we in the States are completely ungrateful for.  Even the simple things….clean water to drink right out of the faucet, the fact that HIV is not widespread, not having to worry about getting malaria or typhoid or ebola, roads that are paved and safe to drive on, good education, and the list goes on…..
Anyways, here is a list of things that I am specifically thankful for right here and now:

-The chance to be here

-The beautiful scenery and weather here

-A family and great friends back at home who love and care about me

-God’s faithful and abundant provision of all my needs

-Warm showers- thanks to the water heater that Leo installed on my shower head…the first couple days (oh, and whenever the power goes off), I got a cold shower

-Waking up every morning to drink coffee and read God’s Word

-The fact that the Lord never gives up on me, and is faithful in teaching me things I should have probably already learned by now

…..Anyways- that’s all for now.  In a couple of hours, I will be climbing into my mosquito net  and going to bed…while probably most of you are just starting your day.  I hope it is great, and that you remember that Christ has already conquered, and that you stand in that victory, and to be thankful in all things.
Blessings,
Amy Dawn

 

One thought on “Patience, Endurance, and Thanksgiving

Leave comments here:

