“His Faithfulness will be my shield…”

Standard

So…packing up my life again for my departure to Uganda in just 2 days!

I am trying to get all my stuff organized that I am taking with me…and trying to decide what i can and can’t live without for 9 months.  I am not totally sure what to expect African living to be like, so there is only so much planning that I can do….but I think I have narrowed down what I feel like to be the essentials   :)

 

  1. My adventure shoes- Chacos (I will probably get weird tan lines….but they are comfortable!
  2. Bible and Journal (God’s Word for strength, encouragement, and wisdom…and blank paper for documenting and processing)
  3. Passport (I don’t know…but I think that’s important :)
  4. Anti-diarrhea medication (hey, I have been to other countries…I know what can happen….)
  5. Water bottle (I take this everywhere)
  6. French Press (gotta have coffee….)
  7. I-pod (Music makes life happier)
  8. Sunglasses (just essential okay)

Packing is not my favorite at all….but packing for an adventure like this one is kind of exciting!

And…here are the books that I am taking with me that I checked out from the libraries of my older brother and sister so I have some reading material for my time in Uganda:

I am excited to read these books while I am in Africa….I have a couple more as well that I have already read and am taking…but it will be a good goal to finish all these by the time I come back.

I can tell that my heart is somewhat anxious (both excited and nervous) for this new chapter in my life.  Everything that I know, that I am comfortable with and used to…is going to change in 2 days when I leave my family, my home, my culture, and everything that is familiar to me and go on an adventure to a place I have never been, to a family that I have never met, to a place that is completely unfamiliar to me.  But God does not change and is the same here in Ogallala Nebraska as He will be in Entebbe, Uganda.  I believe that this is where He is leading me and I trust Him for this turn in the road that my life is taking.  His faithfulness will be my shield.

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and fortress, my God in whom I trust”.  Surely He will save you from the fowler’s snare and from the deadly pestilence.  He will cover you with his feathers and under His wings you will find refuge.  His faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.”                 ~Ps. 91:1-4

Thanks to all of you who are reading about what God is doing in my life and I hope you will continue to read as I head to Uganda on Friday!

P.S. Today I did my duty as a Citizen of the U.S. and voted! It was my first Presidential election to vote in!

 

 

2 thoughts on ““His Faithfulness will be my shield…”

Leave comments here:

