Drink Coffee: you can sleep when you’re dead

Standard

Hello!  

Life is busy and coffee is keeping me going right now!  I am into the 4th week of my CNA class…and we are starting clinical on Wednesday!  It has been a huge time commitment, but I am grateful for the opportunity, and I do feel like I am learning a lot, and that is exciting!  

And…the Olympics!  I watched the opening ceremonies with my friends the other night and quite a bit of the Olympics on Saturday evening as well…..I also feel so patriotic and team spirited when the Olympics are on.  I really enjoy watching them.  Although I can only watch sports for so long before I just wanna go outside and play myself!  

Me and my friends have been playing a lot of sand volleyball recently, and that is so fun!  I could play ALL day and not get tired of it!  Summer time is good   :)

And….Uganda is coming up in less than 2 months!  Crazy!  I am getting really excited about it though and not really nervous yet…so that’s good!

I am reading a book right now called “Kisses From Katie”  about Katie Davis, who is working in Uganda with children on the streets and in orphanages..and her experience there.  A lot of what she is writing is stuff that totally hits home with me.  She writes:

“Sometimes I want to spend hours talking with my best friends about boys and fashion and school and life.  I want to go to the gym; I want my hair to look nice; I want to be allowed to wear jeans.  I want to be a normal young woman living in America, sometimes.  But, I want other things more.  ALL the time.  I want to be spiritually and emotionally filled every day.  I want to be loved and cuddled by a hundred children and never go a day without laughing.  I want to wake up to a rooster’s crow and open my eyes to see lush green trees that seem to pulse with life against a piercing blue sky and the rusty red soil of Uganda.  I want to be challenged endlessly.  I want to be taught by those I teach, and I want to share God’s love with people who otherwise might not know it.  I want to work so hard that I end every day filthy and too tired to move.  I want to make some kind of difference, no matter how small, and I want to follow the calling God has placed on my heart.  I want to give my life away, to serve the Lord with each breath,  At the end of the day, no matter how hard, I want to be right here in Uganda.”

~Katie Davis

I feel so many of these emotions myself in my desire to go to Uganda.  I am comfortable here in Wisconsin….sometimes I want to stay here, to be close (or at least closer) to friends and family, to go to Starbucks whenever I want, to have a car, to have straight hair and to go to the mall….but so much more than those things- I want to serve the Lord and show love to those who don’t know Him.  I am so excited about the opportunity in Uganda to partner with the Fowler’s in their ministry and to show Christ’s love to the people of Uganda.  And, I am trusting the Lord that He will use me there somehow to make a difference!

Anyways…..this is what’s on my mind these days.  If you think of it….pray for me as I am preparing to go to Africa! My final flight date to leave is September 28th, so it is coming up fast! 

Off to class again in just a little bit…..life does get busy…but I am thankful for God’s faithfulness, supportive friends and family, and coffee…..!

Blessings, 

Amy!

Leave comments here:

