Contentment.

Aside

“I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation….”

I’ve always liked this verse and always thought it was neat…but it wasn’t until the other day when I was talking with a few of my friends that I realized just how incredible it is that Paul was able to say that he had learned how to be content in EVERY situation!

While we were talking about the stage of life that we are all in, and how at times it is difficult to be content where we are instead of just enjoying it….Paul is saying that he’s content whether he is starving or not, whether he has his basic needs provided for or not!  Now that is true contentment!  Paul experienced many hardships and many things that were a struggle, but he still was able to say….”God is more than enough, and I am content”.

I looked “content” up in the dictionary and this is what it said:

satisfied with what one is or has; not wanting more or anything else.
 And, as a believer in Christ, that feeling should most certainly define my life!  I don’t need anything else to satisfy or fulfill me no matter what I think or what the world tells me. 
Oftentimes when I think of contentment….it seems like something far off and really…unattainable.  I find myself thinking that someday I will wake up and somehow just be content.  I was challenged though in thinking about this, by a friend who pointed out that contentment is really a choice more than anything else.  Not that it will always be fun or be easy…but it is something that we can decide about and trust Christ that He will be our contentment. 
In the passage in Philippians 4 when Paul talks about contentment….he says that he has learned the secret of being content in all situations and then goes on to say…”I can do all things through Him who gives me strength!”   So, he was definitely relying on the Lord for this contentment. 
I am so blessed…and really have no reason not to be content.  It is still something I struggle with nevertheless though and something that I know I need to trust God more for in my life.  But, I was encouraged to read this passage again and to see it a bit differently this time. 
Trust God for contentment….He is truly all we need!
3 thoughts on “Contentment.

  1. claire

    “Lord, I am no longer my own, but Yours. Put me to what You will, rank me with whom You will. Let be employed by You or laid aside for You, exalted for You or brought low by You. Let me have all things, let me have nothing, I freely and heartily yield all things to Your pleasure and disposal. And now, O glorious and blessed God, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, You are mine and I am Yours. So be it. Amen.”
    John Wesley

    I thought this was a fitting prayer for this post. love you, momxxx

Leave comments here:

