I am a Nomad.

Standard

So- I have an announcement to make….that has been a decision long in the making.  After some craziness….lots of talking, praying, changing of plans, trusting God, and realizing that life doesn’t always go exactly how you think it will…..I have decided to move back to Wisconsin in January 2012!  God knows far better than I do- and even though things are still pretty unsure, and I’m a bit nervous about that- I feel at peace right now that this is what He has for me.  It is somewhat humorous, because I really felt that my time in Waukesha was over….but I guess not quite yet!

Missouri has been a good experience and I am thankful for the time that I have had here.  Things have gone differently here than I expected- but I think that God definitely had His hand in this experience here and I am glad for the things that I have learned.  Life is a process….and despite the most well laid out plans…..sometimes things change.  I’m learning to be okay with that.  For this upcoming year…that is something that I want to really have in my mind- just holding my life with an open hand….having a “God, do whatever you want to do with my life” kind of attitude.

My title says “I am a nomad” because that is what my friend Emily called me the other night when she heard I was moving AGAIN!  This year has been lots of transitions for me!  I spent the first 5 months finishing Bible School in Wisconsin…3 months in Nebraska for the summer, and then 4 months here in Missouri working in childcare.  It’s been good though- I just feel like I’m moving around a lot!

“The LORD will guide you always! He will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land, and will strengthen your frame.  You will be like a well watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail!”  ~Is. 58:11

Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vine, though the olive crop fails, and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen, and no cattle in the stalls, YET- I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior!”    ~Habakkuk 3:17-18

The last verse I feel as if I could add….”Though my plans did not work out like I thought they would….YET- I will rejoice!  I will be joyful in God my Savior!

God has definitely been teaching me a lot through this process.  And, it is good.  I am actually really excited about moving back to Wisconsin.  I am not sure as of yet just what exactly my time there is going to look like- but I am excited for yet another new step in life to see what God has in store!

Thanks to all of you who read my blog regularly and try to keep up with my crazy life!  I am blessed to have such great people in my life!

Christmas is coming up so soon!  We had our first snow here in Missouri today!  I am excited about that….but at 6:00am standing on my porch in shorts, slippers, and a hoodie thinking about having to walk to the shower…I wasn’t quite as excited!

But, I am planning on being home in Nebraska for about a month over Christmas which I am really looking forward to!  I am so thankful for the Christmas season and such a beautiful time to remember the birth of Christ…the greatest gift to all mankind!  Have a beautiful week everyone!

Love,

Amy!

One thought on “I am a Nomad.

  1. claire

    Amy, Thanks. I was reading back through the journal I just finished and saw this quote. It made me think not only of you, but us, and many others right now as life goes through transitions.
    “Waiting on the Lord is not an activity, but an attitude of trust.”
    Trusting in Him and asking myself if that really is real in my life seems to be a theme and thought that comes up quite often these days. Have a good day. love you, momxxx

Leave comments here:

