Giving Blood!

Standard

I had an interesting…and unplanned afternoon.

It started with…..my toilet overflowing!  And me….despite all my “experience” in fixing toilets from working in the hardware store…..oddly enough— had NO idea what to do!  So….I called the plumber here on campus for some help!  So- he came over and fixed it really fast.  He is the plumber and the guy that’s in charge of the blood drive here at school that they were having today.  So, he asked me if I had given blood.  I said no, I have never done it, and was scared.  But…..I am easily convinced, so he said…you really should….so I decided to!

I first called my Mother to ask her advice (she is a faithful blood donor).  I asked her if she thought I would do okay…and with some hesitation (knowing my low pain tolerance), she said that I should go ahead and try it.

So….I went to the blood drive and was very nervous……but- I did it!  And, it was not that bad!  I just did not look at the needle, and I was fine.  I had moral support though, and the guy who was drawing my blood made me feel very comfortable, and he was really calm, so that helped.

So….it was an adventure!  But, I am now a fan of donating blood, and will encourage others to do it- cause it doesn’t hurt that bad….and if we can be a help to others through giving blood….we need to do it!

Here are some statistics:

  • Every two seconds someone in the U.S. needs blood.
  • More than 38,000 blood donations are needed every day.
  • A total of 30 million blood components are transfused each year in the U.S. (2006).
  • The average red blood cell transfusion is approximately 3 pints.
  • The blood type most often requested by hospitals is Type O.
  • The blood used in an emergency is already on the shelves before the event occurs.
  • More than 1 million new people are diagnosed with cancer each year. Many of them will need blood, sometimes daily, during their chemotherapy treatment.
  • A single car accident victim can require as many as 100 pints of blood.

So….we should all give blood if we can!  I did not even think to bring my camera to this event…but I wish that I had! Here are a couple of photos though:

I even got this cool sticker and a free t-shirt!  And, some really kind people here on staff….Dave and Laura knew that I was nervous about doing it, and so they told me to come over to their house after I was done and they made me a iced coffee drink!  That was so nice of them!

So…..seriously- if I can do it…..anyone can!  Cause I am a baby when it comes to stuff like this, but I survived!

 

2 thoughts on “Giving Blood!

Leave comments here:

