Canoeing, Sunburn, and Hope!

Standard

2 weeks here at MTC!!  Crazy! It’s gone by fast, but yet seems like I’ve been here for a lot longer!  Things are going well though for sure!  I feel blessed to be here!  No news on a second part-time job yet! I have applied, I have called to follow up, etc.  So….I am just trusting God to provide!

Today some of us from the school here went on an 8 1/2 mile canoe trip down the Niangua River.  It was super fun and relaxing….not too strenuous, so a great time to just hang out!  It was great cause we could all like hook onto eachother’s canoes and share snacks, talk, etc.  And you could always get out and swim too….so it was really fun!

Now…what I am about to say is NOT a complaint, or me whining….because I have no excuse!  I got SO burned!!!  I didn’t use sunscreen all summer…..(I don’t really believe in it!), and so I wasn’t about to use it today despite the fact that we were going to be on water for 5-6 hours!!!  So, I definitely got pretty toasted.  But, you know- I’m just going to put some aloe on and not worry about it!  My burns always turn to tan pretty fast, so I should be good!  Although my nose is pretty PINK!!!

Other than that- it was a beautiful day!

Something that I have been thinking about this week is just the idea of how life as a believer is so very different than the life of someone who does not know God.  As a believer- I have Hope that is real and true and something that I can always count on!  The hope of eternity with God!  And, that hope should dictate everything that I do here on earth!  I cannot imagine living a life without knowing where I was going when I died, what my true purpose is, and just feeling empty!!  But truthfully- so many live that life!  And the fact that I have a hope that is FIRM and SECURE should make me want to share it with those who don’t have that!

“We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure!”                                     Hebrews 6:19

Leave comments here:

