First Day of Summer!

Standard

Summer is FINALLY here officially!  I always sort of consider May and June to both be summer also…but now I can take comfort in the fact that it really is summer!  We have gotten like 4 inches of rain in the last few days- and yesterday was completely gloomy and cold!  So, it didn’t really feel like summer, but hopefully it will start to get hotter outside.

The picture is of me and my sisters last week out at the lake.  It was a beautiful evening, and so we just made ourselves some hamburgers out there and watched the sun set, etc.

This week is kind of crazy- working a lot, and then doing Vacation Bible School at my church in the evenings from 6:30-8:30.  The theme for the VBS is by GoFish, called “Kickin’ it Old School”  and it is basically just going back to the basic stories and facts of the Bible and keeping it simple.  I am helping to lead the games for the different age groups.

Tonight- with the Kindergarten and 1st graders- we were playing kickball- and I was sort of explaining the game to them, and then I assigned 3 of them to 1st base, 2nd base, and 3rd base.  One of the other girls then looked at me and asked, “Amy, can I be on 4th base then??”  And, sadly I had to explain that there was no 4th base!!  I thought it was pretty cute.

This morning at breakfast- my Dad was reminding all of us that things like VBS really can be super important and influential in a child’s life…because he even remembers going to VBS when he was little and really just loving it and having a good impression of the church and started to understand God’s love for him even at a young age and not being raised in a Christian home.

“For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your forefathers, but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect.”

1 Peter 1:18-19

 

Leave comments here:

