Radical- Taking Back Your Faith From The American Dream by David Platt

Standard

This book was really challenging for me to read.  It really brings us as Christians back to the point where Jesus says “Come, follow me” and explores what that actually looks like and how we as American Christians have strayed from in some ways, the true gospel.

He says, “Fundamentally, the gospel is the revelation of who God is, who we are, and how we can be reconciled to Him.”  He makes the point that we have experienced the grace of God in not only Salvation, but in our excess (money, possessions, education, etc.) all for the glory of God!  We are to experience His grace, FOR His glory!

He makes a parallel in the book about how slavery was a blindspot for the church, and how today he sees materialism as a blindspot for us.  The fact is that because we have running water, a shelter over our heads, clothes to wear, food to eat, and some means of transportation- we are in the top 15% of the world’s people for wealth.  There are billions of people living on less than 1 or 2 dollars a day.  These facts aren’t simply to make us feel bad for having more than others, but to challenge us to use our resources, and what we have been blessed with to IMPACT the world with Christ.  “Why not begin operating under the idea that God has given us excess, not so we could HAVE more, but so we could GIVE more!”        ~David Platt

David also addresses the fact that God’s plan is to use the Church to evangelize the world, and that He has no plan B for that.  “The answer is clear.  The will of God is for you and me to give our lives urgently and recklessly to making the gospel and the glory of God known among all peoples particularly those who have never even heard of Jesus.”    ~David Platt

This was a huge challenge to me, because I am in training to serve an unreached people group overseas someday, but it really caused me to examine myself and ask, “What am I doing, right now in my life to IMPACT the world for Christ.  What am I doing in my job, with my money, with my time, to make Christ known to those who are lost?”

I’ve done a poor job conveying all of what is said in the book, but these were just a few of the things that really stood out to me.  I would definitely encourage you to read this book though and allow God to stir things up a bit in your life.  David Platt does a really good job at making what he says practical and down to earth.

Thanks for reading.

……I am here to experience His grace, for His glory!

Leave comments here:

