From Dietrich Bonhoeffer:

Standard

Hey Guys!  Just wanted to share something that I read in ‘The Cost of Discipleship’ by Dietrich Bonhoeffer who is one of my all time heroes.  I have been reading this book for like two years, but it’s definitely a good one…so much good stuff in there….Anywho….here it goes:

This is from the Beatitudes where Jesus is talking about mourning:

“By ‘mourning’ Jesus, of course, means doing without what the world would call peace and prosperity: He means refusing to be in tune with the world or to accommodate oneself to it’s standards.”

I love that part just about refusing to be in tune with the world….That is so true that we as Christians are called to such a different life.  A life set apart for complete devotion to God.

Being here at NTBI, I am facing some different situations than I am used to.  It’s good, I am learning and growing, but I also need to really remember to keep my focus on Christ and seeking Him.

I would definitely suggest reading ‘The Cost of Discipleship’ and listening to the Radio Theater by Focus on the Family called ‘Bonhoeffer’.  Definitely a favorite of mine.

With all my Hope in Christ,

Amy

Leave comments here:

