Shallow and Profound…..

Standard

In my quiet times I normally read each day from Oswald Chamber’s book My Utmost For His Highest, and a while back I came across one that was very challenging to me and how I live my life. More than anything I want Christ to be evident in my life. And in all areas of my life. This devotional addressed the verse:

‘Whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.’ 1 Cor. 10:31

And I really do want that to be true in my life. Sometimes I feel like I’m a great Christian at church, but does that carry over to my life at home or at work? The first thing that I am in life is a Follower of Christ. Is that as plain as my gender or race? Shouldn’t it be? Am I just as much a Christian when I am mixing paint at work or playing soccer as when I am at church or reading my Bible?

In the book, Mr. Chambers says:

“We are so nauseatingly serious, so desperately interested in our own character and reputation, we refuse to behave like Christians in the shallow concerns of life.”

I see this as being very true in my life and in others. Sometimes I will be waiting on someone at work who goes to my church or another in town and you would have no idea from their attitude in shopping that they are even remotely Christian. Everything that we do though is a reflection of our Creator whether it be good or bad.

2 Cor. 2:15 says:

‘For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.’

May we represent Christ well in the Shallow and the Profound. And sorry about this post not being very well organized. I am still pondering a lot of this.

One thought on “Shallow and Profound…..

  1. Russ

    Great post Amy. It is the challenge before us continually. Am I going to choose my way or God’s way. Taking up the cross and following Him. As christians, the battle is ever before us. Many times we make wrong choices desiring our way, only to find out how selfish we really are.

    As we crucify the flesh by living for God by the Spirit we testify that we have been truly transferred from darkness into His glorious light. The joy of life with Him and His salvation overwhelms us.

Leave comments here:

